The Ilderton and District Lions conducted their annual curling bonspiel in January. Not a fundraiser, but a day to have Lions gather together for a day of fun and comradeship. This bonspiel been carried on successfully for over fifty years.

Participation in the bonspiel has been, Lions from District A-1 but, has also included Lions from the neighbouring District A-15.  Additionally, the Bryanston-Birr Optimists have supported the bonspiel right from the beginning. More recently, the London Visually Impaired Curlers have been participating, which is very fitting, as Lions were designated as “Knights of the Blind” by Helen Keller in 1925.

This year teams from the following clubs participated vying, for this year’s bonspiel trophy:

  • Glencoe District Lions Club                                                    
  • Strathroy Lions Club
  • Hyde Park & District Lions Club                                             
  • Thorndale Lions Club
  • Ilderton & District Lions Club                                                 
  • Thamesford Lions Club 
  • London East Lions Club                                                          
  • Bryanston-Birr Optimists  
  • Lucan Lions Club                                                                    
  • London Visually Impaired Curlers
  • St Thomas Lions Club

In 1983 a trophy was presented for the first time to the annual curling champions.  That year, the trophy was won by the St Mary’s Lions.  This year, 2020, the trophy was awarded to the Ilderton and District Lions Club.

In 2012 the bonspiel was named, the “Ike Christensen Memorial Bonspiel” in honour of long time Lion, Ike Christensen, who had been involved with the bonspiel continuously from the beginning, passing in 2011.